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A hearty congratulations to the winners of the Women’s Pairs at the 14th Red Bull 

World Bridge Series. This is the first time that players from our zone pocketed all the 

medals in a single category at a World Championship. We can, perhaps, look for more 

to come. 

In the coming months, we can expect more excitement in international events in our 

zone. The confirmed events can be found in the following page. 

We now have 24 tournament directors on the Zone 6 TD Register. If you are        

organising an international event and need TDs, please give them due consideration. 

From left: 1st runners-up Gan Lin & Huang Yan, Champions Liu Shu & Zhou Tao, 2nd runners-up Suci Dewi & Kristina Wahyu 
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APBF Championships and Congress 

 

At the APBF delegates meeting in Wuyi, Jinhua, China on 12 June 2014, the following 

venues (and dates for 2015) were confirmed: 

 

1. 20th APBF Youth Championships: 1 - 7 April 2015 in Bangkok, Thailand 

2. 50th APBF Championships: 22 - 31 May 2015 in Bangkok, Thailand 

3. 8th APBF Congress: 2016 in Tamsui, Taiwan 

4. 51st APBF Championships: 2017 in Incheon, Korea 

2014/15 Major Confirmed Events in Our Zone 
 
 36th ASEAN Bridge Club Championships 

  Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia    26 - 30 November 2014 
 

 SportAccord World Mind Games 
  Beijing, China     11 - 17 December 2014 

 

 20th NEC Bridge Festival 
  Yokohama, Japan     10 - 15 February 2015 

 
 2015 Yeh Brothers Cup 

  Shanghai, China     8 - 12 April 2015 
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Board 23 

Dealer: S,  Vul: All 

(Misinformation) 

 

 

 

 

(World Mixed Team, Round Robin) 
 
 (1)  Precision, 2+ 

(2)  W -> S  fit raise 
       E -> N  shortness,  fit 

 

Result: 4  by S-2   NS –200 
 

Facts: 
 

The TD was called by South after play has 

ended. She claimed that had she known the 

“real” meaning of 3 , she would have 

passed 4 , which would have made. 

Ruling: 

 

On further investigation, the TD found that 

EW could not agree on their agreement 

after a double. Without the double 3 

would have been fit and shortness. There is 

nothing on the CC to justify one way or 

another in this case. The TD hence ruled 

that EW had an infraction according to 

Laws 40A & 40B and NS was damaged as a 

result. The TD further ruled that the table 

score be adjusted according to Law 12C1. 

4 experts were consulted and passing 4  

was a common alternative. The score was 

adjusted to: 

 

 4  by N = NS +130 

 

Post Mortem 

 

In our experience, misunderstanding of 

pa r tnersh ip  unders tand ing  a f ter             

interference was very common, especially 

when 1NT was overcalled. May be it is time 

that the TDs  suggest to their NBOs that 

some guidelines be given to educate the 

players in this aspect. 

The following cases came from international events in the past year. 

 

 6 

 8754 

 Q3 

 AKJ976 

 

 KQT85 

 J62 

 T8 

 Q53 

N 

 

 
 

 973 

 KQT 

 AJ9754 

 2 

 

 AJ42 

 A93 

 K62 

 T84 

 

W N E S 

   1 (1) 

1  x 3 (2) P 

3  P P x 

P 4  P 4  

AP    
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Board 19 

Dealer: S, Vul: EW 

(Misinformation) 

 

 

 
 

 

(World Open Team, Round Robin) 

 
(1)  Explained by W as F1 

    may have    fit 

  

 Result: 5  x by S -1  NS –100 

 

Facts: 

 

The TD was called by South when the play 

has ended.  He complained that East hand 

was not a F1 type and he has been        

misinfomred. There had been no question 

on the North-East side. There was nothing 

on EW’s CC that suggest whether the 4  

bid is forcing or not. 

Ruling: 

 

On further analysis, the TD found that 

there was no agreement on the 4  bid, but 

the explanation was merely based on com-

mon bridge sense. The TD hence ruled that 

there had been no infraction by EW and 

the table score will stand. 

 

Post-mortem: 

 

In actual fact if I were asked the question 

whether 4  is forcing or not, my answer 

would have been “We don’t any explicit 

agreement, but at this vulnerability what 

would you think! Could it be non forcing?” 

 

 A986 

 Q3 

 T742 

 T53 

 

 T3 

 AT9 

 KQJ853 

 K2 

N 

 

 
 

 7 

 J754 

 6 

 AQ98764 

 

 KQJ542 

 K862 

 A9 

 J 

 

W N E S 

   1  

2  3  4 (1) P 

5  P P 5  

x AP   

Q: When there is a significant break in 

tempo, say by North, will South be     

allowed to bid on? 

 

A: Yes, and the TD will usually instruct the 

players to carry on.  Score may be      

adjusted if (a) the break in tempo by 

North carried unauthorised information, 

and (b) South has made used of the UI, 

and (c) East-West has been damaged as 

a result. 

Questions & Answers 
(Email to: awching@netvigator.com) 
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Board 21 

Dealer: N, Vul: NS 

(Break in Tempo) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(World Open Pairs, Round Robin) 

 
(1) Break in tempo over 20 seconds 

 

 Result: 3NT by E =   NS -400 

 

Facts: 

 

The TD was called by North after the 2  

bid. He said that the tray stayed on the SW 

side for over 20 seconds before being 

passed. The fact was no disputed by East 

and the TD told them to continue. The TD 

was recalled at the end of the play. North 

claimed that without the break in tempo, 

East -West might only be playing in a 2  

contract.. East-West played Precision. 

Ruling: 

 

4 experts were polled and all would have 

passed the 2  bid, especially when the pair 

was playing Precision. On further investiga-

tion, the TD discovered that West had a 

history of not being able to bid this kind of 

a hand, which made it clearer that UI has 

been passed and unused. The TD ruled that 

there had been an infraction by EW result-

ing in damage to NS. The TD adjusted the 

score to: 

 

 2  by W +1, NS -140 

 

Post-mortem: 

 

Would you think it makes a difference if 

EW was playing natural. Would it make a 

difference if it was a team’s event. 
W N E S 

 P 1  P 

1  P 2  P 

2 (1) P 2NT P 

3  P 3NT AP 

 

 9732 

 Q963 

 6 

 7642 

 

 Q5 

 AKJT52 

 QT4 

 93 

N 

 

 
 

 KJ6 

 4 

 AJ8752 

 AQ8 

 

 AT84 

 87 

 K93 

 KJT5 
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Board 4 

Dealer: W,  Vul: All 

(Misinformation) 

 

 

 

 

 

(Swiss Team Qualifying, Bridge Festival) 
 
 (1)  14-17HCP 
 Lead:  4  

 Result: 3NT by S -1   NS –100 
 

Facts: 
 

The TD was called by South when the play 

was over. He said that when he said East 

about the opening lead before he played his 

first trick from dummy, East answered that 

their agreement is 4th best. After the play, 

South asked West about the lead and      

received an answer “any lead”. He claimed 

that there may have been misexplanation 

by East. 

The TD examined the play. The first trick 

was won by dummy  K. A successful  

finesse to the J and a  to dummy’s J and 

East’s K. A  came back and West cleared 

the suit. 

At this point South, thinking the  was 4-4, 

ducked another  which was won by West. 

West proceeded to cash the last 2  s and 

3NT went 1 down. South explained that he 

was optimising his chances: the contract 

would make if the  K came down  

doubleton or tripleton, or if  broke 3-3, 

or the  honours were divided. 

 

Ruling: 

 

The TD determined that South was given 

the correct information according to EW’s 

agreement. The TD also did not suspect any 

special partnership understanding between 

the EW players. Hence, the TD ruled that 

the table result stands according to Law 40. 

 

Appeals 

 

NS appealed on the ground of  West’s    

answer after the play, which was disputed 

by West at the hearing. The committee   

upheld the TD’s decision. 

 

Post Mortem 

 

If this happened at a regional or world 

championship, will the TD rule the same 

way. At a world-class level, it will be very 

strange for East, “knowing” that declarer 

has 4 cards in  and presumably quite solid 

when he played the K from dummy, to    

return the suit when he gets in with the   

 K. This can only happen if he suspects 

that partner has 5  to start with, in which 

case it will tend to become special       

partnership understanding over time. 

In this particular case, if West always leads 

“whatever I like” and if East knows that, it 

will be special partnership understanding 

and is subject to full disclosure. 

W N E S 

P P P 1NT(1)
 

P 3NT AP  

 

 Q54 

 JT6 

 K2 

 A9632 

 

 982 

 Q982 

 AT874 

 J 

N 

 

 
 

 K73 

 K3 

 953 

 QT854 

 

 AJT6 

 A754 

 QJ6 

 K7 
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Board 11 

Dealer: S,  Vul: None 

(Misinformation) 

 

 

 

 

 

(World Women Pairs) 
 
 (1)  Written as 14-16, 15-17 on CC 
 (2)  W -> S 2 majors, E -> N 1 major 

 (3)  Invitation 

 Result: 4  by S -1   NS –50 
 

Facts: 
 

The TD was called by South and West after 

the tray came back with 3  - pass. West 

spoke very limited English. Apparently 

South told West that they played natural 

and their CC did not clarify the 1NT  

opening well.  NS plays 14-16 NT when not 

vulnerable and 15-17 when vulnerable.    

Although not marked on EW’s CC, West 

explained that they play 2  as both majors 

against strong NT and 1 major against 

weak NT. 14-16 would be treated as weak 

NT. West though NS played 15-17 NT as 

the NS’s CC was not clear. 

West further mentioned that now East 

would think that West held only 1 major. 

The players were then told to continue. 

South called the TD back when play ended 

and claimed that they have been           

misinformed. North also claimed that the 

explanation given was different from EW’s 

CC. 

 

Ruling: 

 

The TDs unanimously agreed that NS was 

given the correct information according to 

EW’s agreement. Furthermore, South was 

given the description of West hand through 

the misunderstanding, which she was    

otherwise not entitled to know. The TDs 

determined that there had been no infrac-

tion and the table result will stand. 

 

East-West were warned to update their 

CC with a complete written description of 

their defence against different ranges of 

NT. 

 

Post Mortem 

 

During the TDs’ discussion, something 

strange came up. Apparently 14-16 NT is 

treated as strong in some parts of the 

world and weak in others. The interesting 

point is whether you use the lower limit or 

the upper limit as your deciding point. 

Maybe TDs should remind their players to 

make it more specific in the CC, such as 

NT which is always 15+, or NT which can 

be 14-, etc. 

 

W N E S 

   1NT(1)
 

2 (2) 3 (3)
 P 4  

AP    

 

 Q9732 

 J753 

 QJ9 

  A 

 

 JT85 

 AQT64 

 - 

 9872 

N 

 

 
 

 6 

 K9 

 876542 

 KJT6 

 

 AK4 

 82 

 AKT3 

 Q543 

 


